The market is BRUTAL – What junior developers should do to secure a job?

Allen Goo
2 min readJun 13, 2023
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I’ve been asked similar questions in the past few months – “Market is rough, I couldn’t secure my internship yet. I am very stressed. What should I do?”

Getting a job is indeed rough, especially for a junior developer in this market. All the IT bubbles were gone, and multiple layoffs are still happening at the big tech companies. Even mid/senior developers are struggling to find a job nowadays. So what junior developers should do?

Stay positive

It’s the market that is the problem, not you. I know you are stressed and discouraged by all the rejections but it’s not the end of the world. You can do something that you’ve been wanting to do after school like a travel – it will refresh your idea and visions to keep it up. Always take care of your physical/mental health first. That’s the most important.

Be prepared

I know it is very competitive to get an interview due to the market. So you want to be well-prepared to shine among all the candidates when you get a chance. It’s not easy but try to solve at least one problem on Leetcode every day. If your time lets you solve more than one or harder questions, even better. Check the Leetcode community or Blind channels to gather what kind of technical interview questions (including…

--

--